Annie Leibovitz - Vanity Fair
About Kevin Kline:

A St. Louis native and Priory School graduate, Kevin Kline won Tony Awards for On the Twentieth Century and The Pirates of Penzance before leading roles in Sophie's Choice (1982) and The Big Chill (1983) made him a Hollywood star. Adept at comedy and drama on stage and screen, Kline won an Academy Award for his madcap performance in A Fish Called Wanda and received accolades for his stage interpretations of Richard III and Hamlet. Refusing to abandon his passion for theater while working in films as diverse as Dave and Cry Freedom, Kevin Kline often has been called the "American Olivier." He most recently received a Tony nomination for his portrayal of Falstaff in Shakespeare's Henry IV at Lincoln Center.


1978: Drama Desk Award: Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical, On the Twentieth Century
1978: Tony: Best Featured Actor in a Musical, On the Twentieth Century
1981: OBIE Award: Performance, The Pirates of Penzance
1981: Drama Desk Award: Outstanding Actor in a Musical, The Pirates of Penzance
1981: Tony: Best Actor in a Musical, The Pirates of Penzance
1986: OBIE Award: Sustained Excellence in Performance
1988: Academy Award: Best Supporting Actor, A Fish Called Wanda
1997: IFP Gotham Actor Award
1998: Kline was named Man of the Year by the Harvard Hasty Pudding Club


St Louis Priory School, St Louis, Missouri
Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana; majored in speech and drama
The Juilliard School, New York, New York; majored in drama

About the Professional Theatre Awards Council (PTAC)

The Professional Theatre Awards Council was formed in 2004 to promote and celebrate excellence in St. Louis professional theatre, and is a non-profit, 501c(3) organization.

Executive Director: Steve Isom, Actor

Board of Directors:
President: Jerry McAdams, Former National Practice Leader, Watson Wyatt Worldwide

Vice President: Deanna Jent, PhD, Professor of Theatre, Fontbonne University;

Vice President: Lana Pepper, Founding Managing Director, Shakespeare Festival of St. Louis

Secretary: Jason Cannon, Director, Actor, Producer, Playwright;

Treasurer: John Russell, Sr. VP, Stifel Nicolaus

  • Sara B. Burke, Owner/Director, The City Studio Dance Center
  • Jan Cerny, Vice President, Human Resources Director, Maritz Inc.
  • Michelle Hand, Co-founder and Co-artistic Director, Orange Girls
  • Greg Johnston, President Thumbs Up Telemarketing
  • Bill Lynch, Professor of Voice and Speech, Actor, Director
  • Dennis M. Reagan, President and CEO, The Muny
  • Charlie Robin, Executive Director, Edison Theatre, Washington University
  • William Roth, President, The Eleven, Inc; Founder, St. Louis Actors' Studio
  • Peter Sargent, Dean, Leigh Gerdine College of Fine Arts, Webster University
  • Mary Strauss, Partner, Fox Theatricals and Fox Theatre
  • Terry Schnuck, Former General Counsel & Secretary of Schnuck Markets
  • Rachel Storch, State Representative

    Honorary Board Member: Kevin Kline, Actor

    For More Information contact:

    Kevin Kline Awards (314) 276 8165

    [email protected]